March 26, 2017

Tea Party Winners and Losers

Among the 8 Senate candidates affiliated with the Tea Party, 4 were elected on Tuesday: Ron Johnson of Wisconsin, Mike Lee of Utah, Rand Paul of Kentucky, and Marco Rubio of Florida. On the other hand, the 4 Tea Party candidates who did not win yesterday include: Sharron Angle of Nevada, Christine O’Donnell of Delaware, Joe Miller of Alaska, and Ken Buck of Colorado. The defeat of Joe Miller came from Lisa Murkowski, the Republican incumbent who lost in the primary, but came back to win with a last-minute write-in campaign. This is the first time since 1954 that a candidate was elected to the Senate through write-in votes.

Speak Your Mind